Monday, September 19, 2011

Naturalitzation Ceremony


Rushing, glancing at the clock I just barely make it. The Naturalization Ceremony, originally something I was only slightly interested in mostly as my International Relations teacher encouraged us so strongly to attend. Now sitting in the ballroom, watching a young girl ask her mother to smile for a picture as she finished the oath and waiting for her certificate of U.S citizenship I was glad I attended such an inspiring event. I was literally moved by the simple fact that thirty six foreign citizens wished to join our country of freedom.
                 
        The ceremony began with a welcome from our own president Edna Mora Szmanski, and a  response from Yi Chu, student senate vice president. The National Anthem was sung, the Pledge of Allegiance recited, the room rang with the multitude of voices. The list of countries was read, thirty six from sixteen different countries became an American today, as each country was named the citizen(s)   stood and I could clearly see the difference in each that made our country so wonderful.
             
        A short welcome video from our President Barack Obama and a moving song “Proud to be American” which any country fan like myself would know, closed the ceremony. A moving ending as pictures of our beautiful land played on the big screen as the new citizens of the United States of America waved the flag. The entire event was eye-opening and helped me understand how important International Relations actually is.
                
        At the very end f the ceremony I walked up to my professor, shook his hand and thanked him for having us come. If you have never been to a Naturalization Ceremony I strongly encourage you to attend the next one available. I promise you that you won’t regret it.

                                                            And I'm proud to be American 
                                                            Where at least I know I'm free
                                                            And I won't forget the men who died
                                                             Who gave that right to me

                                                              And I'd gladly stand up
                                                              Next to you, and defend her still today
                                                              Cause there ain't no doubt I love this land
                                                              God Bless the USA

Monday, August 22, 2011

Four times in a row!

Quick update since Austin is waiting for me outside, classes start today! YAY! And beat Hobbit four times in a row, YES! At King's Corner, Palace, and War. YAY! lol

Rose

Sunday, August 21, 2011

First Week of College!

Orientation week! WHOOO! It was a blast! Hard to think it's only been a few days and I've already made some great friends! Strange funny people like me, who love playing cards and laugh over the dumbest things! We even have our own little hide away in the CMU. The new thing seems to have people sneak up behind me and poke/tickle my side. (I love ya guys anyways) The black dance was a thrill, spent the whole time with my gals here and Austin! Next day was Dragons after Dark, awesome time again, meet the roomie's boyfriend. He seems like a great guy! Got my art supplies or most of them anyways. Nearly has a heart attack. tie dyed a pillow case, went to the Underground, first club ever in! Right on campus, it's a dry club so it was cool, the live music was awesome!

Last night was Pirates 4 WHOOO HOOO! Loved it, the movie is so much better sitting with Hobbit (Shout out to Hobbit, who is famous on campus now!) Austin left his wallet at the Chinese place last night in Fargo, we had to miss the bus to get it, but that was still a great time. (Thank you Austin!)

So classes start tomorrow and Hobbit is bugging me to get to Comstock for some card games, I will beat him at King's Corner yet muwhahahhahhahaha!

Till the next time,
Rose 

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Fun memories I love,,,and the crazy things I'll miss...

Eating dinner with the family like every night, and for whatever reason I started thinking about the funniest memories of my childhood.

Like driving to New York and my older brother getting car sick and tossing his blueberry muffin into mom's mickey d's cup in the back seat, or twirling around a pole at the older bro's band practice and knocking heads with an equal bored child who is now my best friend of eleven years. (Doesn't that make you feel old??) Mom's strange habit of calling you by every name in the family but your own, or in one of my brother's cases names that even in the family....like David..or Donald...or Rufus...Don't ask about that one folks, Or the time mom decided to fling her sugar free bread pudding all over the kitchen and hitting our picture of the Last Supper...which still has a white spot where we had to wipe it off. Ya know those fun little memories that make you smile.

Mom taking us to early morning church on mondays, then getting us some hash browns and apple juice every monday morning before bro's band practice. Burning my hand pulling a cast iron skillet from the fire pit. (I managed to save the bacon before screaming in pain) Walking arm and arm with my "sister" down a gravel drive way singing "Sister Sister" at the top of lungs, while her family looked at us like we were pyscos. Dressing up in costumes of different saints every year, and trying to guess who was who, while you picked the most impossible guessed saint you could think of. Friday co-ops and getting bit by a shrew, (I'm not very good with animals) Endless games of "It's the cows" and ring around the rose for the baby sister. The Lord of The Rings parties, and the time the whole gang was out in the front lawn decked out with wooden swords and capes and some one shouting "Happy Halloween!" Sleep over that we stayed up practically all night after our first barn dance. Watching Ever After and drinking so much cream soda out of wine glasses, and eating junk that we were slap happy, and burst out in giggles at the saddest part of the movie.
Me trying to learn to knit...and crochet....and sew for the most part....yea I'm so hopeless in the useful things like that. The time I actually burned a salad, or I asked my brother how to spell how.

Those good ole days that created fun memories and stories I'll tell the next generation, but it got me to thinking about all the things I'll miss when I go to college, some of them are kinda crazy.

I know I'm going to miss our noisy dinners, won't be as fun eating, the jokes, and the laughs. Sitting on the couch and watching hours of bugs bunny and Tom and Jerry. Going shopping with Mom and talking about anything and everything. Bro and I planning our total victory on Ninja Warrior and imagine every one's face with a girl beats them all....Haha those crazy little things you normally don't think about.

Heading to college made me realize, all my friends, and myself, we've grown up. We started college, beginning college, and even FINISHING college. We don't get together as often as we used to, the old games we used to play a thing of the past, but I still smile on those old memories, and look forward to the future and all the thins left in store for me.

Rose

Monday, July 11, 2011

July's update

Ok, everyone I haven't updated in awhile but I have good news! Court is over! The baby stays! NO MORE VISITS!!! YIPPEE!!!

On a side note we had a lovely 4th of July, saw some fireworks shot off from our back yard, not very reassuring when a neighbor told my dad that the fire man next door had his gear ready in case one of the more dangerous ones decided to blow up. The baby slept right through them believe it or not! 

It's alittle over a month before I head to college, getting excited but still have a few worries. I started a movie night thing going for the night everyone moves in. I figured it would be around 10 people or so, the count is currently up to 73...if it keeps climbing like this, we're gonna run out of room! haha!

I currently trying to stay awake, the past couple nights I've been having trouble sleeping, no idea why but oh well.

And as I believe I've bent your ear enough with my news, I shall bid you a fond fare well until the next time

Rose
 Gilbert Nightray
 Jack Valuriss
p.s. New favorite manga characters

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Standards

I don't really hold alot of standards for men, that only seem to disappoint. No it's harder then meeting a few standards to get me.

I'm not one for looks. I like when a guy is a nice dresser, of course. But I'm not going to turn someone down just because of the color of their hair, skin, or eyes.

I'm not one for material things. I like getting gifts now and then, who doesn't? But I won't turn someone down just because they don't have a sports car or a flat screen tv.

I'm not one for money. Of course I wouldn't want to be homeless, but I would never turn someone down just because they don't make as much money as a doctor or lawyer.

There are only a few things that I look for in a man.
The Catholic Faith first and foremost.
A good personality secondly, I like someone who can make me laugh, but also comfort me when I'm down.
But that's it, that's all I look for. I'm open to everything else they could offer.

But remember how I said that it was harder then the standards to win me? I look for an instant connection, not necessarily love at first sight, but a connection that forms when we first say hello. Something that draws me to the person, that makes me what to know them more. That's what I look for, and that is why it is so hard to get me. A connection like that doesn't happen everyday.

So good luck to one and all

Rose

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

Dreams...

You all know the old Disney song, "A dream is a wish your heart makes..." Well if that's true, I'm kinda of liking these wishes! The last two mornings I've woke up with a smile on my face! Normally I don't dream, or if I do I'm in such a deep sleep I don't even remember it. But I remembered these dreams and I liked them. They were nice and refreshing, alot better then the nightmares I'm used to. haha :P

But at the same time, if those are really some wishes my sub-conscious is making, I'm going to have to give myself a talking to, not to change them, but maybe to gather up enough courage to make those dreams a reality..
At the moment, my sub-conscious can keep dreaming cause I'm a big chicken! haha! I'm very scared of risking something special to try to win something even more special. Does that make any sense??? I suppose not since I'm being very vague, but I like being like that. Then people can't guess...except for my brother...he guessed already. How he got it on the first try I'll never know...I guess he knows me too well.

The fact is as independent as I try to be, I don't want to make the first move. If they're interested they'll come to me, that's my motto. I do try to drop subtle hints here and there, but, uh, I fail at that. My cousin nearly died when I told her that one! haha!

To be honest, when it comes to the world of guys, I'm horrible. Totally clueless and simply like a traveler without a map...

Ah well, back to the world of books where "dreams do come true"

Rose